Which countries have been removed from the safe travel list?

The UK government has announced the latest changes to its quarantine waiver list, removing four countries and adding none.

Here is a guide to the latest changes:

– Which countries have now been removed from the travel safe list?

Denmark, Iceland, Slovakia and the tiny Caribbean island of Curacao.

People arriving from one of these destinations after 4am on Saturday will have to isolate themselves for 14 days.

– Does the rule only cover England?

No. Unlike before, this now covers the whole of the UK, following the agreements of the devolved administrations.

– Why were these countries removed from the exemption list?

The Department of Transportation (DfT) said the data showed a significant increase in confirmed coronavirus cases in the four countries.

New data from Denmark showed a rate of 65.2 cases per 100,000 people, up from 33.8 just a week ago.

Iceland and Slovakia have rates of 80.4 and 25.9, respectively, while Curacao is 66.7.

A rate of 20 is the threshold above which the government expects to activate the quarantine conditions.

The rate in the UK is 47.3.

HEALTH Coronavirus
Daily confirmed cases of Covid-19 in the UK. See Coronavirus HEALTH story. PA infographic graphics. If necessary, an editable version of this chart is available. Please contact graphics@pamediagroup.com.

– Have countries been added to the exemption list for England?

Not this week.

– What should travelers already do in the four countries?

The DfT said people currently in the four “new” countries are encouraged to follow local rules and check the Foreign Office’s advice pages.

The government also urges employers to understand those returning from these destinations who will now have to isolate themselves.

Foreign Minister Dominic Raab has previously said that no worker following the quarantine guide should be penalized by employers, even with sick pay.

Coronavirus - Tuesday 8 September 2020
Passengers are reminded of Covid-19 restrictions upon arrival at Heathrow (Yui Mok / PA)

– I have booked a holiday in a country that is not on the list of travel corridors, what should I do?

The Foreign Office advises British citizens not to “travel all but essential ones” to countries that have not been declared travel corridors.

– My holiday destination does not yet have self-isolation requirements, will it change?

Those heading to a country on the travel corridor list should keep an eye on government announcements – decentralized or the UK – to see if the status of their destination changes while they are there.

Some tourists had to pay hundreds of pounds to switch to previous flights to return before the quarantine requirement took effect.

– So where can I go without having to isolate myself on my return?

Several places. There are currently more than 60 on the safe list, including Australia, Barbados, Cuba, Estonia, Germany, Italy, Japan and Vietnam.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.