HARTFORD, CT (WFSB) – The governors of Connecticut, New York and New Jersey amended the joint travel notice on Tuesday, removing six states and adding Puerto Rico.
States removed from the affected areas list include: California, Hawaii, Maryland, Minnesota, Nevada, and Ohio.
Implemented on June 24 at 11:59 pm, people traveling to CT, NY and NJ from states with a high prevalence of COVID-19 must quarantine for 14 days.
As of September 15, the following locations have been listed in the state travel notice:
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Puerto Rico
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
A constantly updated list can be found on the state website here.
CONNECTICUT TRAVEL ADVISORY WEEKLY UPDATE: ➡️ Added to Affected Locations: Puerto Rico➡️ Removed from Affected Locations: CA, HI, MD, MN, NV, OH If you are entering Connecticut from these locations, you must quarantine 14 days. See the full list ⬇️ https://t.co/lMJvc6PkFa
– Governor Ned Lamont (@GovNedLamont) September 15, 2020
Under Governor Ned Lamont’s executive order, state, federal, and local lawmakers and officials who leave Washington DC are exempt from travel notice, as long as their travel is considered the government’s business.
Over the summer, it was implemented that travelers are now required to fill out an online form so that the state can track where they are going to quarantine.
RELATED: Travelers from high-infection states to be monitored, possibly fined if quarantine is breached
A $ 1,000 fine can also be imposed on those who violate the quarantine. People traveling to New York from the listed states already have to pay a $ 2,000 fine if they don’t comply.
As of Sept. 15, Lamont said Connecticut will allow travelers from states with high infection rates to skip the 14-day quarantine, but only if they have a negative COVID test within three days of arriving in the state.
Lamont continues to work on consulting with Governor Andrew Cuomo of New York and Governor Phil Murphy of New Jersey.
The travel warning applies to any person arriving from a state with a positive test rate greater than 10 per 100,000 residents or a state with a positive test rate of 10% or greater on a 7-day moving average.
In June, Lamont said: “I can tell you that flights are down and passengers are down since our quarantine was activated, so there are fewer people coming from the more infected parts of the country to CT.”
Dr Deidre Gifford, interim commissioner of the Department of Public Health, said Connecticut will update the list of states, depending on the COVID-19 clinical cases. If a state sees infection rates decrease, it may be removed from the alert.
Connecticut continues to have one of the lowest coronavirus rates in the nation.
“Working together as a region has proven to be tremendously successful as our respective states are leading the country when it comes to our response with low infection rates and positivity versus increased testing capacity,” Lamont said. “We have made difficult decisions during this pandemic, but we have shown that we are making many of the right decisions. This step to inform travelers forming states with self-isolating hot spots is intended to protect our residents and maintain our incredible progress in public health. “
The state has published a list of frequently asked questions about travel tips along with their answers:
How will this be applied? Failure to self-quarantine or complete the Travel Medical Form can result in a civil penalty of $ 1,000 for each violation.
- How are the affected states chosen? The notice applies to any person arriving from a state with a positive test rate greater than 10 per 100,000 residents or greater than a 10% test positive rate over a seven (7) day moving average. The list of states is fluid and will be updated weekly on Tuesdays on this site.
- Who is the notice for? The requirement to self-quarantine and complete the Travel Health Form is applicable to any traveler who has spent twenty four (24) hours or more in an affected state within fourteen (14) days prior to arrival in Connecticut but does not include a person remaining in Connecticut for less than twenty-four (24) hours. These requirements also apply to Connecticut residents who are returning from a visit to an affected state.
- What does self-quarantine mean? Self-quarantine means staying at home or in the designated place for self-quarantine, separating from others and monitoring your own health. Do not enter any public place, including, but not limited to, restaurants, swimming pools, meeting or meeting rooms, during the mandatory self-quarantine period. You can leave your designated self-quarantine location for medical examinations, for obtaining medication, or for grocery shopping. A self-quarantine is used to keep someone who may have been exposed to COVID-19 away from others. Self-quarantine helps prevent the spread of the disease which can occur before a person knows they are sick or if they have been infected with the virus without experiencing symptoms.
- If I am traveling from an affected state to Connecticut to seek or obtain medical treatment, do I have to automatically quarantine myself when I arrive in Connecticut? Yes, you are required to self-quarantine when arriving in Connecticut from an affected state if you have been in that affected state for twenty-four (24) hours or more within fourteen (14) days prior to arriving in Connecticut. Although self-quarantine is required, it is possible to leave the designated self-quarantine location to go to the medical procedure or other medical appointment. When you leave your designated self-quarantine position and when in public after the mandatory self-quarantine period, you are required to wear a face cover when in public and when a distance of six feet from others is unavoidable, a unless you have a medical condition that prevents you from wearing one and you have written documentation showing that you are qualified for exemption from a licensed health care provider, Department of Development Services, or other state agency that provides or supports services for people with emotional, intellectual or physical disabilities, or a person authorized by such agency.
- What happens if I return to Connecticut after visiting a state that was not on the affected state list when I arrived but was added to the affected state list during my stay? Although Executive Order 7III and the Commissioner of Public Health’s Travel Advisory require the concerned traveler to self-quarantine upon arrival in Connecticut, the Department of Public Health will not prosecute or impose civil penalties against an affected traveler arriving in Connecticut after a stay. in a state that it was not on the list of affected states when the traveler arrived (including cases where the traveler arrived in a state prior to the effective date of Executive Order 7III) but became an affected state during the stay of the affected traveler, provided that the affected traveler returns to Connecticut no more than seven days after the date that that state was added to the list of affected states. Although the Department of Public Health will not pursue civil penalties against such travelers, all of these travelers are still strongly encouraged to make every effort to self-quarantine. Additionally, such affected travelers are still required to complete a travel health form upon arrival in Connecticut and may be subject to civil penalties from the Department of Public Health for non-compliance.
- Are there any exemptions for essential workers who have to travel for work? Yes. Workers traveling from affected states to Connecticut and Connecticut to affected states working in critical infrastructure as designated by the Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency are exempt, including students in exempt health professions, and all state, local officials and employees. and federal, are exempt from self-quarantine when such travel is work related. Such essential workers are required to complete the Travel Health Form.
- If I am a Connecticut essential worker and need to travel to an affected state for a family member’s funeral or end-of-life visit with a loved one, do I need to self-quarantine when I return to Connecticut? A Connecticut essential worker who travels to an affected state for certain reasons and meets the trial alternative is exempt from the self-quarantine requirement, but for business purposes only, and must self-quarantine for any portion of the fourteen (14 ) day self-quarantine period in which he does not work. Reasons allowed are: travel to Connecticut to drop a child in school, to assist a family member or loved one whose physical or mental health or well-being is at risk, to assist a family member or loved one, procedure, or to assist with end of life care, to have an end of life visit or to attend the funeral of a family member or loved one. The test alternative requires that the essential worker (1) have had a negative test result for COVID-19 in the seventy-two (72) hours prior to arrival in Connecticut and (2) have provided written proof of that test result to the Commissioner of Public Health by email at: DPH.COVID-Travel@ct.gov or by fax at: 860-326-0529. If a test was obtained within the seventy-two (72) hours prior to travel but the result is still pending upon arrival in Connecticut, that essential worker will remain self-quarantined in Connecticut until the test result is received and, in If this test fails, the result is submitted to the Commissioner. If the test result is positive and the Essential Worker is asymptomatic, he must self-isolate for ten (10) days from the date of the test; if symptomatic, he or she should seek medical attention. The Essential Worker is required to complete the Travel Health Form.
- If I am an essential worker who visited an affected state on vacation, do I need to self-quarantine when I return to Connecticut? Yes, essential workers traveling to Connecticut from an affected state or Connecticut to an affected state for vacation are required to self-quarantine and complete the travel health form.
- How long does the self-quarantine last? The notice requires Connecticut visitors from affected states to be quarantined for a period of fourteen (14) days from the last time they were in the affected state. If you board a plane in a stricken state today and land in Connecticut today, your fourteen (14) days start today. If you are staying in Connecticut for less than fourteen (14) days, you should plan to be in automatic quarantine during your visit. If you left an affected state and spent time in unaffected states before arriving in Connecticut, you start counting your fourteen (14) day period from the time you left the affected state and if only five (5) of these fourteen (14)) days are spent in Connecticut, you will need to quarantine in Connecticut for those five (5) days.
For more answers to other frequently asked questions, click here.
Copyright 2020 WFSB (Meredith Corporation). All rights reserved.